YOU get a trophy! YOU get a trophy! YOU get a trophy! The FQ Fashion Awards 2024 are Here!

Fashion Quarterly Editor and Publisher Sarah Murray, fast becoming our version of Oprah Winfrey for local fashion, is breathing new life into the world of fashion awards for Aotearoa

By Murray Bevan

Who remembers the Benson & Hedges Fashion Awards? That was a time. In 1964, New Zealand played host to the Wills Gold Rose Awards, later renamed the Benson & Hedges Fashion Awards, an event which was TELEVISED to the entire country and gave our thriving industry a chance to showcase its work to the nation.  Since then, our local fashion industry hasn’t had a decent chance to celebrate itself, and give credit where credit’s due.  That is, until now.

With the announcement of the FQ Fashion Awards in July 2024, fashion fans in New Zealand, as well as industry insiders, will have the chance to nominate and vote for their favourite creators.  Especially with the decision to postpone NZFW until 2025, not to mention a loooong list of brands and stores that have announced their own demise, our local industry really does need a reason to pat itself on the back and look forwards.

Globally there are a long list of fashion awards, but locally we’ve not been blessed with a consistent awards series that goes beyond offering a corporate sponsor with a good bit of PR.  DHL used to give away awards at NZFW to designers who were pushing into overseas markets, with the prize being discounts on shipping costs.  Westpac also had their time in the sun with a short series of fashion awards awarded to the likes of Georgia Currie, who used the $5000 prize to move to Auckland start her now-defunct Georgia Alice label.  Then of course there are the Hokonui Fashion Awards and the iD Dunedin Emerging Designer awards, the latter of which also casts a net to the rest of the world, and has included past judges like Akira Isogawa and Zandra Rhodes.

But could the FQ Fashion Awards become Aotearoa’s version of the CFDA Awards, or The Australian Fashion Laureate?  Without the presence of a Fashion Council or governing body, like the NZ Music Commission, New Zealand’s fashion industry desperately needs cohesion, a road map, and leaders who have a vested interest in collective betterment.  And maybe, just maybe, the 2024 FQ Fashion Awards will be a step towards recognising, celebrating and supporting local talent before it’s too late.

You can vote here for the 2024 FQ Fashion Awards, presented by Shark Beauty.

Categories are:

  • Designer of the Year
  • Photographer of the Year
  • Stylist of the Year
  • Accessory Designer of the Year
  • Fashion Writer of the Year
  • Hair Stylist of the Year
  • Make-up Artist of the Year
  • Model of the Year
  • Fashion PR person of the Year
  • Sustainability Initiative of the Year
  • Content Creator of the Year
  • Best Contribution to Maori Fashion
  • Best Contribution to Pacific Fashion
  • Rising Star Award
  • Lifetime Achievement Award